How To turn Off Read Receipts on Instagram

How To turn Off Read Receipts on Instagram

When you receive a message from someone on Instagram, you can see the seen mark that tells everyone that you’ve seen their message.

It may be tempting to keep your seen mark off so people don’t think you’re ignoring them, but it might also lead to some awkward encounters if the recipient thinks you didn’t read their message when you did!

Evangelism

How To turn Off Read Receipts on Instagram

Fortunately, it’s pretty easy to turn off Instagram read receipts so no one knows whether or not you have seen their messages.

1.) Open the Instagram app and go to your profile.

In the top right corner of the screen, tap the three vertical dots. This will open your settings. Scroll down and tap Privacy and Security. In this menu, there is an option for Show Activity Status.

Tap this to toggle it off. Your read receipts will now be turned off! You are not notified when someone has read your messages but they are still saved in their inbox.

If you want to see who has opened a message from you, go to the person’s profile page and look at their Activity Log.

There you can see if they have seen any of your messages by looking at a small icon next to each conversation thread.

If you would like to set your status as seen or unseen click on the eye icon or circle with a line through it respectively. To undo these changes, simply repeat the steps listed above.

2.) Tap the menu icon (three vertical lines)

Scroll down and tap Settings. Scroll down and tap Privacy & Security. Tap Read Receipts to toggle them off.

When you do this, you’ll see a pop-up asking if you’re sure you want to turn off read receipts. Tap Turn Off to confirm. To turn read receipts back on, tap the switch next to it again.

Related: Does Target Accept Apple Pay

If you would like to be notified when someone has opened your direct messages (iMessage only), go back to the Privacy & Security menu and then scroll down until you find Notifications.

Check the box next to Direct Messages. Then choose whether or not you want notifications in the Notification Center or alerts on your lock screen.

You can also set up a sound for incoming messages by tapping Alert Sound and selecting one of three tones that will play when you receive a new message.

3.) Tap Settings

If you want to keep your Insta stalking on the down-low, you’re going to want to know how to turn off read receipts.

Here’s a step-by-step guide:

1. Go to your profile and click on the gear icon in the upper right-hand corner.

2. Scroll down until you see Show Activity Status.

3. Toggle the switch off.

4. And that’s it! You’ll now have hidden what messages you’ve seen from other users – they won’t be able to tell if you’ve seen their post or not.

As long as nobody else is following both of you, nobody will know what posts you’re seeing. Now go get stalking those Insta feeds!

To turn back on and see who has viewed your profile activity, just repeat these steps and toggle Show Activity Status back on.

4.)Select Notifications

In the upper-right corner of your screen, tap the three vertical dots, then select Settings. Scroll down and tap Notifications. From here, you can adjust various notification settings.

If you want to completely disable read receipts, toggle off the Show Activity Status option.

Once this is turned off, your followers will not be able to see when you have opened their messages or comments.

Read more about notifications in our blog post 5 Essential Instagram Settings for Power Users.

With that said, there are occasions where it might make sense to keep read receipts enabled.

For example, if someone asks a question via DM (direct message), it may help ease anxiety if they know that you’ve seen it and are working through a response rather than just ignoring them! Ultimately though, whether you decide to enable read receipts or not will depend on your own individual preferences.

What do you think? Do you like having read receipts enabled? Why or why not?

5.) Select Messages. (It might say Direct Messages.)

If you have an iPhone, open your Instagram app and go to your profile page by tapping the icon in the bottom right corner. Scroll down and tap Privacy and Security. Tap Story Settings.

Turn off Read Receipts by tapping the toggle next to Read Receipts. If you have an Android, open your Instagram app and go to your profile page by tapping the icon in the top right corner.

Scroll down and tap Privacy and Security. Tap Story Settings. Turn off Read Receipts by tapping the toggle next to Read Receipts.

For more information about why we send these messages, visit our Help Center. Read Receipts are notifications that tell you when someone has seen your message or story.

You can turn them off at any time from Messages (on iOS) or Privacy and Security (on Android).

In order for this setting to work, everyone who is involved in a conversation must also switch their settings for Read Receptions to Off. Once it’s turned off, those people will not know when you’ve seen their messages or stories.

6.) Under Message Requests and Messages, tick the circles next to Off.

When you have read receipts turned on, people you message can see when you’ve read their messages.

If you’d rather keep that information private, you can turn off read receipts. Here’s how:

1. Open Instagram and go to your profile page.

2. Tap the gear icon in the top right corner.

3. Scroll down and tap Privacy and Security.

4. Under Message Requests and Messages, tick the circles next to Off next to Read Receipts.

Related: WhatsApp Web login Guide

You’ll only be able to do this if you’re using a mobile device. Once it’s been turned off, your read receipts will no longer show up for those who send them.

Conclusion

Instagram read receipts can be a great way to keep track of who has seen your posts, but they can also be a little bit intrusive.

We hope this guide helps you with how you can turn off read receipts on Instagram.

Founder/ CEO of Emma Builds. I Had this dream since 2018, but it came into reality In 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.